First snow

Brought on thoughts of home and dear friends.  As much as I love Colorado, I am drawn to Minnesota for the holidays.  Aside from Hogan Brothers and getting my bi-yearly haircut, I get the opportunity to see those closest to my heart.  Those I have trusted with my hopes, fears, and embarrassing stories.

I talk about the two different Carolines.  The one that my friends know and the one that the people in Colorado know.  And it’s true.  I act differently out here.  I’m more guarded, more reserved.  The carefree, real Caroline exists at home in MN.  Which is exactly the opposite of how it was in college.  At home home, I was guarded and acted like I felt I should act.  But at college, I learned how to be around people.  How to go with the flow.  Learned what it was like to have sisters.  How to go outside my comfort zone and do things that might have consequences.  It really was the time that I learned the Caroline I wanted to be.  And I don’t know if I’ve found that or lost that in these three years in Colorado.  I’ve found more of what makes me happy, of what I never thought would be apart of my life.  But I’ve also learned letting new people into your life is difficult and at times heartbreaking.  Or maybe I’ve been spoiled with good, genuine people that others can’t compete with.

Coming home brings me back to these people.  Brings me back to my home where I always sleep the best sleep the entire year.  Maybe my body knows these people are protecting me and I can just let go.  When you’re on your own, there is no one but yourself to handle matters.  As independent as I am, it’s nice to know that someone has my back.

Minnesota, I’ll be home in a few.

2 thoughts on “First snow

  1. There is something so pensive about the first snow. I am so excited for you to come home- and you can be whoever you want to be when you are here…. As long as it involves Hogan Brothers!

  2. “Or maybe I’ve been spoiled with good, genuine people that others can’t compete with.”— this, I genuinely believe. There are some high quality people back home, people of a character you just don’t run into everyday. We just go lucky to be surrounded by a weirdly high percentage of them at once, and now have been spoiled.

    This is a beautifully written post.

Leave a Reply

