Missed opportunity?

I’m not entirely surprised this happened, since I’ve probably been putting out an interested vibe for some time, but it caught me off guard and I think I may have missed an opportunity.

What opportunity?

A possible drink with my male yoga instructor.

Yeah.  Mr. Handsy lived up to his name in the class before he possibly invited me out to a drink with him.  But let me back track.  He started out the evening very talkative and said he would be willing to be my thai yoga massage partner for a workshop in February.  I’m the genius who is the only one signed up and didn’t think I needed a partner, which should be obvious.  So that conversation had me thinking I would be getting some one on one attention during the smaller class.  And I’m right.  I got a real intense adjustment in half tortoise pose.  He sat on me.  His butt was on my back.  And I’ve never gone deeper in to a pose, that’s for sure.  As I came out of that pose I got an intense arm rubdown.  Granted, I did see him do that to the person next to me.  But he started off class by just running his hand down my neck while we settled in…  But then at the end of class he gave me an arm massage after he was done closing class.  They usually don’t stay after they say Namaste. So I was feeling pretty good.

I walked out of class and told him I liked his variation, since I get the same Hot Power Fusion routine often.  I then headed to the locker room, when he said, come talk to me when you get out.  I was a little intrigued on why he would need to continue the conversation…and sort of smiled to myself in the mirror.

I asked him if he was going to the New Year’s Eve class taught by Justin, since I’ve seen him in a Friday class.  He said he wasn’t.  It was the first time he didn’t have to work the Sunday morning and his kids were with their mom.

Boom.  He’s a dad.

So he then came around the desk and stood right next to me and asked if I was working tomorrow.  I wasn’t and went into how I was doing yoga sculpt.  Then he said, I’m going to shower and then go get a drink after this.

Pause.

Pause.

Then I say something about having had a really early flight that morning.  It didn’t hit me that it could be him inviting me to get a drink with him, until a couple seconds too late.  But I also didn’t want to assume.  So then the conversation went to him going to camp in MN when he was 12.

Oh goodness.

So did I unknowingly reject him?  Did I ruin any future…fling?  Am I going to have to ask the next time?  And he’s a dad.  Sorry, but that’s a little more baggage than I am ready for.  Though this could just be something fun and yoga-filled.  Can you imagine the one on one yoga time I could get?  I’m interested in this.  And an older dude probably would be good for me.

Thoughts?  Comments?  Suggestions?

Leave a Reply

